music

singing friendship

There are soooooo many songs about friends and friendship… People of MY generation (I was born in the Middle Ages 😉 ) surely remember these lines…

When you’re down and troubled
And you need a helping hand
And nothing, oh nothing is going right
Close your eyes and think of me
And soon I will be there
To brighten up even your darkest night

“You’ve got a friend” – James Taylor

Keep smiling, keep shining
Knowing you can always count on me, for sure
That’s what friends are for
For good times and bad times
I’ll be on your side forever more
That’s what friends are for

“That’s what friends are for”

Dionne Warwick, Stevie Wonder, Elton John, Gladys Knight

Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends.
Mm, I get high with a little help from my friends.
Mm, gonna try with a little help from my friends.

“With a Little Help From My Friends” – Beatles

Friends will be friends

when you’re in need of love

they give you care and attention

friends will be friends

right till the end

“Friends will be friends” – Queen

Do you know other songs in English that are about friendship?

4 thoughts on “singing friendship

  1. I was born in modern times ;-)… But I know the song “That’s what friends are for” and I like it very much! I think music is a wonderful way to say “I love you” to a friend because you can say with music what you can’t say with words 🙂

  2. The two best songs I know about friendship are: In this river-Zakk Wylde and Found a Friend-Zakk Wylde *.*

Leave a Reply

