themes and issues

Amur leopard, Tallin Zoo, Estonia

The Amur leopard (Panthera pardus orientalis), also known as the Manchurian leopard, is a wild feline predator that originally lived in the Russian Far East, Korea, and China.

This leopard species is very particular because it also lives in mountainous areas as well as in temperate forests. Unfortunately, there are only from 30 to 35 individuals remaining in the wild, and this makes it Β one of the rarest felids in the world.

More information on this beautiful animal at http://www.amur-leopard.org/ in the Green Links.

On Monday, April 5th 2010, the Amur leopard Darla, which is kept in captivity in the Tallin Zoo in Estonia, gave birth to two cubs. The first was born at 7:51 am, the second 9:55 am.

There is a camera that monitors the mother and the two cubs constantly. Why don’t you click the Green Links on the right and have a look at them? They’re so cute πŸ™‚

The Tallin zoo has also other cameras placed in different places in the zoo (also in the Green links).

68 thoughts on “Amur leopard, Tallin Zoo, Estonia

  1. We can see the Tallin zoo leopards and the other animals from Italy… It’s fantastic! And the two cubs are so cute! πŸ™‚ But I’m asking… How is it possible that the second cub was born after such a long period of time from his brother? And how can the Amur leopard live in places so different from its original habitat?

  2. Dear Sara…
    I’m not a doctor, but I guess that it’s normal that cubs are not all born simultaneously…
    As for your second question, I think that one of the keys to survival for every species on our planet is getting used to new life conditions and new habitats…

    But we could ask one of our science teachers at school!
    I’ll let you know as soon as possible πŸ˜‰

  3. It’s great! Now a cub is eating. I’m not a great animal lover (the only animal I love is the turtle), but this video is really interesting! I think also that a leopard can adapt itself to the new habitat, as each of us.

  4. I love watching the cubs and mom, but I am very concerned about the habitat – do they live in a box? What is outside the box? Anyone knows?

  5. Dear Ann, click on the link “Tallin zoo cameras in the zoo” and then look for the Amur leopard icon… if you click on it you can see three areas for the leopards: a nest, that’s where the cubs are, and two areas outside πŸ™‚

  6. I, acting as coauthor of this blog, officially name this post “The Most Successful Post of the Year”.
    Congratulations Matteo =)

  7. Hear, hear! I have been captivated by these beautiful creatures and have even got to see Dad prowling around outside!

    • that’s incredible, ann!!! you’ve been really lucky! but tell me, as I’m a bit curious… was Dad interested in his cubs? πŸ˜‰

  8. Hi teacher b. – I’ve only seen him on his own outside. It would appear that for the time being he is separated from them. I’ve not seen Mother or babies outside yet and was wondering what age they went outside?

    • Hi Ann! In my opinion it won’t take long before we see them outside… maybe they have to stay in a protected area for another while before they’re allowed outside…
      Hey guys! The first who sees the cubs outside please report to us immediately, ok??? πŸ˜‰

      • Hi teacher b.!

        I will certainly alert everyone if I see them out and about. I saw Dad climb down of the top of the rocks yesterday. πŸ™‚

  9. I am looking in the nest and for the second day running do not see any leopards – anyone know where they are? I see Dad outside…

  10. I told you before that the cubs are going outside in early june but tallinn zoo gave us today new information.We can see the pups out there, where the father is at the current moment until July.There is a name contest running at the moment as well and they will choose the names in july around 20 to 23
    We are here a little bit sad as well beacause we can’t see them as much we as we did before.

    • Your information is really precious, gellux, a thousand thanks from all of us!
      I thought they would do a contest for the names… what names have been suggested until now? πŸ™‚
      Do you think that we could also suggest names for them?

      • Hi teacher b.

        I am thinking of names now – without much success, I might say. πŸ˜‰

      • I think you can send some names as well: one is a girl and one is boy.At the moment i don’t know what names they suggest because people are sending suggestions to the email address and they are saying the name could be inspired by Vladimir Arsenjevi Manchuria travel-related books and other home countries of the Amur Leopardia
        The names can be in other languages (this is for us Estonian people, it means we don’t need to send Estonian names) because it is not yet known where the puppies are going to live under the International Programme Co-ordinators.
        The Zoo takes into account all the proposals to be received no later than 15 June at the e-mail address: zoo@tallinnzoo.ee

      • Hi Teacher b.

        I have sent those names in. I have thought of a couple of others, but not sure whether to enter more. Have you thought of any?

      • Hi dear Ann
        I have been thinking about possible names but with no results yet… maybe if I keep thinking I’ll dream of some πŸ˜‰
        By the way, have you seen the pictures of the two cubs on the site?
        simply gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

      • Hi Teacher b.

        I have only seen one picture of the cubs. Maybe I am looking in the wrong place? :-/ I have, however, been looking at archive footage of them as tiny babies! So cuuute!

        Come up with any names yet?
        πŸ˜€

    • Thanks again for the wonderful information. A competiton for their names? Fabulous. Is it at the website for the Tallin zoo?

  11. I had not seen the cubs for days and now they are back in the nest – must be cold outside!

  12. Anyone seen the kittens outside yet? I have seen Dad a lot and occasionally seen the rest of the family back in the ‘box’/nest.

      • It would seem so, teacher b. – I have this feeling they’re going to venture out when I go on my vacation…*sigh*
        I will have to rely on someone to comment here to let me know. πŸ™‚

      • That would be the middle of July…*sigh* I will try to keep an eye out when I get the chance, but if someone sees them here, I will receive notification. πŸ™‚

  13. Could someone translate this for me please –

    VΓ€iksel leopardil vΓ€ike saak

    It’s the title of one of the archived videos. Thank you.

  14. Hi Teacher b. Thanks for the info and the post with pics. I just saw one of the kitties outside, so today must have been their first venture out. How cool. I saw folk tidying up the enclosure yesterday and it must have been for this occasion. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

