a students' magazine

A Pets Prayer

This post is about a very difficult decision I had to make.

What would you do if your pet had a serious disease and the vet told you that there is nothing to be done?

What do you think your pet would ask you to do?

Here is a poem I found that I want to share with you…

 

A Pets Prayer

If it should be, that I grow frail and weak,

A pain should keep me from my sleep,

Then you must do what must be done

For this, the last battle, can’t be won.

Don’t let your grief stay your hand,

For this day more than the rest,

Your love and friendship stand the test.

We’ve had so many years,

What is to come can hold no fear.

You’d not want me to suffer, so

When the time comes, please let me go.

Take me where my needs they’ll tend,

Only, stay with me to the end

And hold me firm and speak to me

Until my eyes no longer see.

I know in time you’ll see it a kindness you do for me

Although my tail its last has waved,

From pain and suffering I’ve been saved.

Don’t grieve it should be you,

Who decides this thing to do.

We’ve been so close, we two, these years,

Don’t let your heart hold tears.

SMILE, FOR WE WALKED TOGETHER FOR A WHILE.

Author Unknown

EUTHANASIA: the act of killing someone who is very ill or very old so that they do not suffer any more.

Although some people campaign for the right to euthanasia, it is still illegal in most countries. In some countries it is hard even to  find a vet who will help you to end your pet’s suffering, and there is no guarantee that it is done in a humane way… Unfortunately I know this from my own experience with my cat.

What is your opinion on euthanasia?

Leave a Reply

