music

When music comes from the heart

Every now and again I kill time by going on You Tube as I’m a musicaholic! As I was searching for a song a few days ago, I happened to notice a video of America’s got talent where this tiniest, sweetest four- year – old girl, Kaitlyn Maher, sings the heart warming song Somewhere Out There. I was sure I had heard this song a long time ago but I just couldn’t remember where! And then it suddenly clicked! This song appeared in the old, yet  unforgettable animated film An American Tail (Fievel sbarca in America).

The song won two awards at the 30th Grammy Awards – one, for Song of the Year and the other for Best Song Written Specifically for a Motion Picture. It was also nominated  Best Original Song at the 44th Golden Globe Awards and at the 59th Academy Awards, and at the Academy Awards ceremony Natalie Cole performed the song live with James Ingram.

As I listened to her magical voice I quickly looked for the lyrics to sing along (I know, I know, I’m just like a five year old!). I listened to it once and then couldn’t stop singing it because it was so catchy.

It is a meaningful and deep song because it conveys the love that two people feel when they’re separated by long distances and the only thing that reassures them is that, one day, their dream of being together will come true.

I feel this song means something to me because sometimes I yearn to see family and friends who live far away. The space that divides us  may seem unfair but it also helps us to understand just how much these people mean to us.

Here are the lyrics and please, do listen to little Kaitlyn!

Somewhere Out There

written by James Horner, Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil

Somewhere out there beneath the pale moonlight

Someone’s thinking of me and loving me tonight

Somewhere out there someone’s saying a prayer

That we’ll find one another in that big somewhere out there

 

And even though I know how very far apart we are

It helps to think we might be wishing on the same bright star

And when the night wind starts to sing a lonesome lullaby

It helps to think we’re sleeping underneath the same big sky

 

Somewhere out there if love can see us through

Then we’ll be together somewhere out there

Out where dreams come true

And even though I know how very far apart we are

It helps to think we might be wishing on the same bright star

And when the night wind starts to sing a lonesome lullaby

It helps to think we’re sleeping underneath the same big sky

 

Somewhere out there if love can see us through

Then we’ll be together somewhere out there

Out where dreams come true

Leave a Reply

