a talent for writing / literature

The strange world of…. WESTERN LIMERICKS

Have you ever heard of “limericks”? They are humorous, nonsense little poems, rhyming  a-a-b-b-a. The form was made popular by Edward Lear, in his Book of Nonsense (1846). A typical example of limerick by Edward Lear is the following:

There was an Old Person of Spain,

Who hated all trouble and pain;

So he sat on a chair,

With his feet in the air,

That umbrageous Old Person of Spain.

 

In the past, I used to write limericks in English and Italian (it is fun and not difficult, once you know how they work).

Then, more than ten years ago, I got caught by Cowboy Poetry, which is a long, narrative, ballad-like form of poetry, usually dealing with life in the prairie; so, I had the idea of writing some Western limericks, just to see if they could be accepted in the canon. 😉

I even sent them to a Western Culture website, asking for their opinion. They were very kind, telling me that my little poems were worth a good laugh, but were NOT real cowboy poetry. As a result, I stopped writing about cowboys, and stopped writing limericks as well.

Just by accident, these scraps from my literary past have recently resurfaced; so I would like to submit them to your attention and benevolence.

There was a cowboy from Laredo,

Who used to wear just a tuxedo;

Got lost in the mist

And rode towards East,

That strange, old cowboy from Laredo!

I solemnly swear on my honour

I’ve never seen such a bright colour:

Across the Great Plains

The grass has no stains,

But shades of that wonderful colour…

If I were a Halloween cowboy,

You would hear me hollering with joy:

Tonight by my side

Two skeletons ride:

The best, for a Halloween cowboy!

2 thoughts on “The strange world of…. WESTERN LIMERICKS

  1. The first limerick I read was

    There was an old man of Peru
    who dreamt he was eating his shoe
    he awoke in the night
    with a terrible fright
    and found it was perfectly true

    but my favourite is undoubtedly…

    A flea and a fly in a flue
    Were imprisoned, so what could they do?
    Said the fly, “let us flee!”
    “Let us fly!” said the flea.
    So they flew through a flaw in the flue.

Leave a Reply

