music

The Dark Side of the Moon – 40th Anniversary

Hi there!

I’m honored to write this article about the 40th anniversary of The Dark Side of the Moon, an album that made the history of music.

Immagine

The Dark Side of the Moon is an album by Pink Floyd released on 1st March 1973.

Recorded in the Abbey Road Studios in London, this album is the product of “sound experiments” done by the band in the Dark Side of the Moon Tour between 1972 and 1973: in fact it contains also the newest recording techniques of the time to adapt the new sound to the new album. Thanks to analog synthetisers and to the sound technician Alan Parsons, we can listen today to this fantastic masterpiece.

The Dark Side of the Moon is influenced a lot by the absence of Syd Barrett,  which means the absence of long instrumental tracks.

Among the  themes dealt with in the album there is conflict, money, time and mental illness, probably related to Syd.

I listened for the first time to this album when I was twelve years old and I perfectly remember every feeling. When my father saw my interest in Rock Music he told me about Pink Floyd, a band that he used to listen to in his “green days”, so I started to investigate.

It was a rainy day…there was nothing to do at home.. I found the complete album on the internet: no vinyls in my times (sigh) and, when I started listening, it was as if music was passing through me and a new world was opening in my mind.

I’ve changed since that day, but today when I listen to this album I feel the same.

I hope it’s the same for you, I’ll see you on the Dark Side of the Moon…That’s my contribution to this day.

Immagine

Thanks to all for reading.

Good listening!

2 thoughts on “The Dark Side of the Moon – 40th Anniversary

Leave a Reply

