Game of the week

RETRO #3: Carmageddon

Guess who’s back back, back again again, Jhooz is back back tell your friends friends, guess who’s back, guess who’s back nanana…. {Eminem – Without}

Hi guys, jhooz here and YEAH…… I’m back!

I know it’s been some time, but I’ve been very busy but… hey, I’m here now!

This article is going to be on one of my favourite games.  It’s pretty old but I discovered it just one year ago and I found it was awesome!  It’s called “CARMAGEDDON”.

 Initially it looks like a normal car game, but it isn’t.  Just looking at the name of the game should tell you otherwise.

But let’s start from the origins. It came out in 1997, produced by Stainless Games and published by Interplay.

 The game is inspired by one of the biggest cult movies of the 70’s,  released in 1975, called“ Death Race 2000”.

In Carmageddon, the player races against other  vehicles controlled by the PC and you have a certain amount of time to complete the race. Now up to this point you are probably wondering : “So what’s so different with this game from a standard racing game then?”. Well, the novelty is that you can escape the race and start run havoc in the streets and run over people walking down the street and other such crazy things!  Isn’t it awesome? Well, maybe it isn’t but it is very enjoyable and at time very funny, too.

Another fascinating thing about this game is that the developers DESIGNED THE GAME LIKE THIS! You even get “extra time” (which  helps you to make the race longer) by running over people or animals. There are some added extras to the game called “power ups” that make the game more disgustingly awesome. You get “power ups” by hitting some sort of flying cubes with your car. Usually “power ups” last 30 seconds but if you are one that likes to use “cheats” you can enable and disable them when you want, and so you don’t even have to care about time, because it just freezes when using  “cheats”. Listen people, I don’t care about what you’re thinking  about me right now, I know I’m a cheater, but hey I play this game to relax and have fun! This is what I aim for and the faster way to get it is by using cheats. 😉

Two of my favourite cheats are: “Explosive Pedestrians” combined to “Blind Pedestrians”. I’ve never laughed so much.

This game got censured by lots of countries around the world like Germany and the UK, where real people were replaced by zombies with green blood or robots with black oil.  After a year some of these countries released the official and original version of the game.

So this was a quick review of Carmageddon 2.   Hope you enjoyed this article and my comeback.

 Love you all. Peace!

Leave a Reply

